Traveler permissions FAQ

2 minute read

Article summary

Admins and Department Managers can assign and adjust specific permissions to Travelers. View-Only Travelers can access their trip information, communicate with Member Support, and adjust certain user settings, but cannot book or modify trips. The distinction between View-Only Travelers and Personal Guests lies in account access, with the former having their own login.

Q: What are Traveler Permissions?
A: Admins can give their Travelers specific permissions, while Department Managers can do this for Travelers in their department. Sometimes, you may set Travelers to have View-Only permissions. View-Only Travelers can see trips booked for them and chat with Member Support, but they won't be able to book trips or use credit lines.

Q: What can a View-Only Traveler do?
A: View-Only Travelers can:

  • View trips booked for them

  • Share and print folios

  • Request a late check-in

  • Chat with Member Support

  • Access Support Center

  • Adjust their user settings like Hotel Loyalty Programs

  • Download the mobile app

They cannot:

  • Book trips

  • Search for trips

  • Access any company settings

  • Modify trips booked for them

  • Access most other functionality


Q: What’s the difference between Personal Guests and View-Only Travelers?
A: View-Only Travelers have access to their own Engine account with a login. Personal Guests do not have access to Engine but others can book trips on their behalf. All Admins, Department Managers, and Coordinators on an account will have access to the same employees they book for by adding them as View-only Travelers, while Personal Guests are only connected to individual Members and cannot be shared across the company's account.

Q: Who controls whether a Traveler is View-Only or not?
A: Admins can toggle whether a Traveler is View-Only or not by managing the Traveler’s details in the Members Tab, while Department Managers can do this for Travelers in their department. The toggle named “Allow member to book for their own travel” can be found under the Membership section for every Member on the account. Note: Department Managers 

By default, new Travelers can book their own travel, so it’s up to the Admin or Department Managers to set Travelers to View-Only if they desire.

Q: Is View-Only a permanent permission?
A: No. Admins and Department Managers can edit this permission at any time.

Q: Can Admins or Department Managers migrate Personal Guests or Full-Permission Travelers to View-Only Travelers?
A: Yes, however, they will need to put in a request with their Account Manager.

Was this article helpful?