Q: Why do businesses want to know when their travelers check out?
A: When members check out early from their bookings, businesses still pay for those unused room nights. By gaining insight into which travelers check out early and what kind of trips are prone to early checkouts, travel managers can track patterns and plan future trips more efficiently.
Q: How are members alerted?
A: After a member checks out, they are sent an email with a link that sends them to their dashboard. They can also initiate the verification sequence on their trip itinerary.
Q: Can businesses get money back for the unused nights?
A: Not at this time. If you would like assistance with any unused nights on your reservation, you will need to reach out to Engine's Member Support team at support@engine.com. Adding Flex to your booking will ensure a refund in Engine Travel Credits for any unused nights.
Q: Is this a free feature?
A: Yes, Checkout Verification is a free feature that Engine Admins can enable or disable as they wish. Checkout Verification is enabled by default.
Q: How will checkout verification benefit Engine?
A: We currently can’t gather early checkout data because it often isn’t reported. By gathering the information this way, we have solid data about how often this happens. Armed with these quality metrics, we can continue to develop features that will benefit our members.
Q: Why are stay reviews attached to this feature?
A: We don’t like to bother our members too much with emails and other messages. By combining these two requests together, members can get both done quickly!
Q: Can an Admin turn this feature off for their entire company?
A: Yes. Admins can enable/disable this feature for all their users, but the feature is enabled by default.
Q: Is the checkout email sent to the guest email or the email that was entered at the time of booking?
A: Checkout emails are sent to the guest email (the person listed as the Traveler who actually stayed at the hotel), even if they do not have an Engine account.
Q: Does the email go to the guest, regardless if they have a user profile?
A: Verifying the checkout date from the email does not require a login. This is intentional, so even guests who are not users can still verify their checkout date.
Q: Can Checkout Verification be used on group bookings?
A: Group bookings are not supported. This will only be available for single-room bookings.
Q: How do Admins see reservations that have unused nights?
A: Admins can see every reservation from the Trips page. They can also download the All Bookings report to see what the verified checkout date was. Any reservation in which the verified checkout date is different from the original checkout date indicates unused nights.
Q: Will Checkout Verification show on any reporting?
A: Yes. The verified checkout date will appear on the All Bookings Report for each booking.
Q: Can Admins turn this off for certain people?
A: No. Checkout Verification is either enabled or disabled for all single-room bookings made on an account and would apply to all users.