HR Platform integrations: HiBob

3 minute read

Article summary

Securely connect Engine to HiBob in just a few minutes.

Overview

To authenticate HiBob using a Service Account, you will need to provide the following information:

  • Service Account User ID

  • Service Account Token

 

Prerequisites

Please ensure you have administrator permissions in your company's HiBob instance to set up the integration.

 

Create the Service User in Your HiBob Account

  1. Navigate to your HiBob System Settings.

  2. On the Settings screen, open Integrations and click Manage on the Service Users tile.

  3. Click on Create service user.

  4. Enter any Display name and click Create.

  5. On the next screen, HiBob displays the credentials for your new service user. Note both the ID and the Token, then click on Go to permission groups to proceed to the next step.

 

Create a Permission Group

  1. Click Add permission group, then Service user.

  2. Enter any Group name, select your new service user under Select service users and click Create.

  3. When asked to confirm the changes, click Confirm.

  4. Switch to the People's data tab of the new Permission Group. Under Whose data can members access?, select people by condition, then click on Edit to select the people the integration can access.

  5. In the Select people by condition pop-up, select all relevant Lifecycle Statuses. In most scenarios this will include Hired, Employed, and Terminated. Click Apply twice when done.

 

In the People's Data, add the following permissions:

Note the permissions below are the required permissions for the full HRIS API. You only need to configure the permissions based on your use case. 

 

a. People > Basic Info 

i. View selected employees' Basic info sections (this is required to surface employees) 

b. People > Email

i. Edit selected employees' email addresses 

c. People > Employment

i. View selected employees' Employment sections 

ii. View selected employees' Employment section histories 

d. People > History 

i. View selected employees' profile changes history

e. People > Identification

i. View selected employees' Identification sections

ii. Edit selected employees' Identification sections (only applicable if you want full unobscured SSN numbers)

f. People > Lifecycle

i. View selected employees' Lifecycle sections (this is needed to surface Employment Status) 

ii. Edit selected employees' Lifecycle sections 

iii. View selected employees' Lifecycle section histories

g. People > Personal

i. View selected employees' Personal sections

ii. Edit selected employees' Personal sections (note: this is needed to surface Date of Birth, we will NOT edit any employee sections)

h. People > Personal contact details

i. View selected employees' Personal contact details sections

ii. Edit selected employees' Personal contact details sections

i. People > Work

i. View selected employees' Work section histories

 

Once done adding the above permissions, create the Permission Group by selecting Save.

 

Log into your Engine account

  1. Go to Settings and then click on Integrations. 

  2. Select your HR platform and click Connect. You’ll be guided through a simple process to authorize the integration. 

  3. The data will sync between your HR platform and ours. We’ll invite all employees without an Engine account and update employee data every 24 hours based on changes in the HR platform. 

  4. Once connected, you can turn on automatic invites for every new employee added to your company.

  5. Departing employees will automatically lose their access.

 

Read our FAQs here for more information.

Was this article helpful?